top of page

Interview with Ceramic Artist Becci

During the summer term we are enjoying weekly visits from ceramacist, Becci, who is teaching us ways to use clay to make our own individual hand-made items. It is particularly lovely working outside in the recent beautiful weather and using our hands to transform a lump of clay into something unique, beautiful and functional. Becci is also a great example of somebody who is making a career for herself using art. Read some of Becci's thoughts on her career choice below....

Q&A

How did you first get involved with ceramic work?

A friend of mine had a ceramic studio in her basement and I would go and play with lumps of clay on my days off whilst she did actual work. I then fell head over heels with clay as a medium, it’s just so beautifully satisfying and messy – I couldn’t stop thinking about it so I decided I had to quit my job and pursue a career in ceramics.

How did you learn?

I did an evening course in ceramics for a few months – we focused on “throwing” though which I was never much good at. The place where I really began to learn was The Kiln Rooms in Peckham – they are a studio in South London with over 100 members – I volunteered with them in exchange for a studio space and I learnt so much just from watching other makers – making lots of awful work and realising what I needed to do to improve my practice. When I think about what I was producing now it makes me cringe! I also work freelance for other makers – they have taught me a hell of a lot about how to run a small business.

What do you like about it?

It sounds cliché but I just love the feel of clay. It is also a great practice in mindfulness, you make something, whack it in a hot box and it either makes it or it doesn’t.

What are some of the pros and cons of being an artist?

Pro’s – it is really fulfilling to use your hands and brain in that manner. You plan your own time, so an occasional lie-in can be factored into your working week!

Con’s – Financially it is difficult – you have to work very hard to keep afloat. That often means working 12 hour days and 7 day weeks!

What do you think is key to your success as a freelancer/businesswoman?

Gosh, I wouldn’t say I was successful yet! I think just put in the hours and send out positive vibes. I would say the people I look up too really focus in on their craft and the success follows as a result – so I’m just trying that.

Becci’s top tips for ceramics

  • Share your knowledge and you will get the same in return

  • Experiment and push boundaries - it’s boring just to stay in the safety zone

  • Enjoy it!

Website:

https://www.dylanceramics.com/

Instagram:

www.instagram.com/dylanceramics

bottom of page