top of page

Interview with our Advocate

As a rights committed school we recognise Article 12 - A respect for the views of the child

What is an advocate?

I work independently from the hospital – I am not employed by the NHS. My role here at Simmons House is to come and offer impartial support, particularly for anybody who may be on a section or would like to know more about how sections work.

It is very important for the young people to have an independent person to speak to who isn’t a formal member of the Simmons House staffing structure.

How often do you visit Simmons House?

I visit every other Friday (unless I’m on holiday).

How do people contact you?

Young people are able to contact me directly - my details are visible on the wall in the lounge area. We can find a private space to talk. It’s about empowering young people so they feel equipped to deal with a query when I’m not here as well. Also any of the nursing staff are able to contact me to refer a sectioned patient so that I can go and see them.

How did you get into advocacy?

I have previously worked in roles focused on promoting rights and addressing discrimination. I studied to achieve an advocacy qualification which led to an accredited advocate qualification. I can also support and mentor peer advocates.

Patients who are sectioned have a RIGHT to see an advocate – the hospital has a legal duty. Young people have a choice though – they don’t have to talk to me if they don’t want to.

It’s challenging work but it’s rewarding to see the difference which can be made .

NYAS also has a helpline which young people can use if they want to talk to someone else or to talk at a different time.

bottom of page